The Institute of Political Studies is a member of both leading political science associations, the International Political Science Association (IPSA), and the European Consortium for Political Research (ECPR).


International Political Science Association

The International Political Science Association (IPSA) was founded in Paris in 1949 to support the development of political science in all parts of the world, building academic networks linking East and West, North and South. Its aim is to create an inclusive and global political science community in which all can participate. It seeks to promote collaboration between scholars in emerging and established democracies and to support the academic freedoms needed for the social sciences to flourish. IPSA has been successful in the encouragement of national political science associations and today there are over 50 such associations affiliated with IPSA, including the Czech Political Science Association.


European Consortium for Political Research

The European Consortium for Political Research (ECPR), established in 1970, has about 300 institutional members in roughly 50 countries. Our Institute takes full advantage of the numerous ways in which ECPR supports the training, research and cross national co-operation of political scientists: by taking active part in the Method Schools, Graduate Student Conferences as well as the annual General Conferences.

Among the high profile prizes awarded by the ECPR to celebrate academic achievements is the Rudolf Wildenmann Prize for an outstanding paper presented at the Joint Sessions of Workshops. In 2014, the Rudolf Wildenmann prize was awarded to Michal Parízek, an assistant professor at our Institute, for his text International Organizations’ Strive for Information: the Politics of Secretariat Staffing.

The Institute of Political Studies is also the proud host of the 2016 ECPR General Conference to be held in Prague.


Czech Political Science Association

The Czech Political Science Association (ČSPV) is a scholarly association representing political scientists from the Czech Republic. Its main aim is to support and encourage research by publishing a bi-annual journal and organizing conferences. The CSPV is headed by Blanka Říchová, the head of the Institute’s Department of Political Science.